OBS: Du er nu offline

Danish Holiday Act 2020

Danish Holiday Act 2020 (Ferieloven 2020) On 1 September 2020, a new Danish holiday law came into force.

Under the new Holiday Act, you earn paid holiday from 1 September to 31 August the following year. You earn 2.08 paid holiday days per month.

You will be able to take the earned paid holiday from 1 September to 31 December of the following year, i.e., a period of 16 months. This offers greater flexibility when it comes to taking your holiday.

Concurrent holiday

You can take paid holiday as soon as you have earned it. The days that you earn in one month, you can in principle use to take paid holiday for in the following month. Taking holidays, however, require an agreement with the employer and holidays are generally taken for whole weeks. However, 15 of the paid holidays that you earn must, as a general rule, be kept for a continuous period in the period 1 May - 30 September.

Frozen holiday funds

Holiday funds that you have earned in the period 1 September 2019 up to and including 31 August 2020 according to the old Holiday Act are called frozen holiday funds. The holiday funds that you may have earned during this period will be frozen and only paid out when you leave the labour market unless you requested to have them paid out in the autumn of 2020 and spring of 2021.

Contact your local 3F department or get in touch with your union representative if you have further questions about your holiday rights.