OBS: Du er nu offline

Danish Holiday Act

Danish Holiday Act (Ferieloven) According to the Danish Holiday Act, you can take your accrued holidays from 1 September to 31 December in the subsequent year.

This period is called the holiday taking year. The longer period gives better flexibility when you are taking holiday.

Simultaneous holidays

You can take paid holidays as soon as you have earned it. The days that you earn in the course of one month, you may in principle use to take paid holidays already in the subsequent month. Taking holidays, however, requires an agreement with your employer, and holidays are generally taken as entire weeks.

15 of the paid holidays that you earn must generally be saved for continuous taking holidays in the period from 1 May to 30 September.

Frozen holiday funds

Holiday funds that you have earned in the period from 1 September 2019 up to and including 31 August 2020, are called “frozen holiday funds” according to the old Danish Holiday Act. The holiday funds which you may have earned through that period will be frozen and not paid until you leave the labour market, unless you applied in the autumn of 2020 and the spring of 2021 to have them paid out.

Contact your local 3F branch or contact your trade union representative if you have any further questions concerning your holiday entitlement.